Evil Dead the Musical

Now that I began my day by waking up with a hideous rash all over my body and it ruined my planned productivity, I’ll write a blog post instead. Silver linings and all that jazz.

We finally did it. We’ve been talking about it for years but we finally suited up and went to see Evil Dead the Musical.

At first, I was apprehensive. You see, if there is one horror movie series that I love above all others, it’s Evil Dead. So I wasn’t sure what I would find when I sat before the theatre stage.

I think I found Valhalla. A horror movie not only made into a stage production but a musical. Fake blood sprayed the audience. At first, I didn’t know what to think of the actor playing Ash, he severely lacked a profound chin. But alas, he was amazing!  (<— That really did deserve an exclamation point.) He spoke just like the character, he swaggered around the stage just like Ash and his humor was on point. So much so, that he schooled an extremely intoxicated (possibly tripping on something) audience member who laughed loudly and obnoxiously at everything. When I say everything, I do mean everything. The stage would be dark while they changed the set, nothing happening and this jack ass is cackling. His wife/girlfriend was desperately trying to get him to quiet down with no results, so Ash insulted him a few times mid-line. The insults were expertly interwoven with the dialogue. “What is that sound out in the woods? And what-the-fuck is that sound coming from the audience?” Security talked to the guy during the performance and after intermission I don’t think they were allowed back in. So, back to all the glorious gore.

If you love Evil Dead, horror movies, theatre, and being splashed with fake gore, you need to fork over $20 and go see the production. (There is of course, a no splash zone for any sissies out there.) It did not disappoint. If fact, I would like to go back every weekend until the production is over.

evildeadmusical10-8-16

9 thoughts on “Evil Dead the Musical

    1. Unfortunately it’s not the same production company and a friend saw the one in Vegas, he said it was massively disappointing. Very little fake gore. I thought Vegas would give it more production value, but I guess not. That being said, don’t let that stop you from going. He could be wrong, I’m just taking his word for it.

Leave a Reply

