Because I have ‘SUCKER’ stamped on my forehead.

Sometimes someone comes to you, and you just know that you’re going to give in if it’s left up to you. In that moment, you count on your spouse to tell you no, we don’t need that in our lives.

Like, I was REALLY counting on it.

But, he didn’t say no.

It was an animal in need.

In these cases, my will power is not the greatest.

Let it be known that I was once offered a Paint horse (my dream horse) and I turned it down! BECAUSE I AM MOST OFTEN RESPONSIBLE.

One month ago, I wasn’t responsible.

A monster dumped a bunch of guinea pigs in a ditch (no cage) and left them to fend for themselves on a very cold week in Michigan. The rescuer happens to be the cousin to my coworker’s wife who I am close with. I’ve always wanted a guinea pig but have never had one. When the rescuer offered to give me every thing I needed to care for one, just so they would have a home, there wasn’t much resistance left in me. Then the husband didn’t help matters.

Without further ado, please welcome Abbath, Dark Lord of Wiggles.

I don’t have any regrets. He’s incredibly cute and fun. We did go on a whirlwind of educating ourselves about guinea pigs, and we still are.

Before someone inevitably attempts to inform me that guineas are better in pairs, we are aware, however, he would not stop dominating any of the pigs he came in with. That being said, we’re being cautious before adding another pig to the situation. From doing research and talking to people who have owned guinea pigs, some just do not do well with others and we’re not sure where he is at on that spectrum. Others insist that they cannot be alone.

What is important right now, is that he is safe, well fed and getting tons of attention. ❤

Expect him to make regular appearances here. 🙂

Have you ever had a guinea pig? What was your experience?

11 thoughts on “Because I have ‘SUCKER’ stamped on my forehead.

  1. Does a guinea pig need a partner if they interact with people or other animals all the time? I can see Rob cuddling him in the picture! Do the dogs want to play with him, or would he be a meal on legs?

    1. Depends on who you talk to. Some people are adamant that they MUST have a friend. Other people recognize that some are too territorial to live with a friend. Either way, they crave affection and interaction so for ours, we get him out and cuddle and let him run around the house every day. The dogs are still a little too intense on wanting to play with him and they have fragile backs. So, that will take some time. I think Ridley will eventually calm down enough to meet him. Samus is part herding dog and I think the instinct to chase might be too much.

      1. I saw a Reddit video today of a golden retriever playing a little too hard with a chick. Then, the chick proceeds to walk into the dog’s mouth and lay down. The dog looks at the camera with two little chickie legs sticking out if it’s mouth, like, “I didn’t do it!”

Leave a comment