Cannibalism – Book Review

Cannibalism: A Perfectly Natural History

4 out of 5 stars

“I also learned that normal behavior or not, sometimes cannibalism in the animal kingdom can get downright weird.”

Is anyone else a little hungry right now?

No?

Hmm.

Ninety percent of my reading is fiction but every once in awhile I get an intense itch to learn something and the weirder, the better. Problem is, sometimes I know way too much about the weird things to learn anything new. When it comes to cannibalism, this was not the case.

While highly informative, I was never bored and for me, that is an important factor in a non-fiction novel. I enjoyed the scientific research in every aspect of the book, even when bringing to light that sometimes, scientists can be a little too close-minded.

This probably isn’t for the queasiest of stomachs, I’ll admit to only getting nauseous over one section, human placenta eating. To be fair though, I have a pretty iron stomach and the subject matter doesn’t skeev me out like a lot of people.

So the moral of the cannibal story is, if you like facts and taboo subjects, this is definitely for you.

54d04cb24a6d8d57ba1c10ce94dcf1dc

9 thoughts on “Cannibalism – Book Review

  1. Apparently the placenta is full of all sorts of good things – but brrrr – i’ll just skip that thank you please.
    Frogs! We have a pond and the bigger frogs do each the tiny tadpoles! Meanies. Although looking at the number of tadpoles there simply wouldn’t be enough pond to go around – even so – ugh.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Sounds like the whole placenta thing is pretty anecdotal. Some women swear by it, but I don’t think (I would have to do some research though) that is any scientific proof of it being beneficial.
      Also, eating my own placenta would be weird, eating someone else’s fried placenta, no way in hell lol.

    1. Thanks! A good portion of it is actually animals other than humans eating their own species, but of course you can’t have a cannibalism book and NOT talk about tribes with taboo funeral rituals or serial killers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

