White Trash – Book Review

White Trash: The 400-Year Untold History of Class in America

2 out of 5 stars

DNF at page 99.

Let me just say that this book is highly informational, that’s not the issue. It was just SO boring. I could not read it for any longer than 15 minute stints or I did not absorb any information because my brain wandered away.
I’ll elaborate a little more than I did on Goodreads. The main thing I found interesting/learned was that, much like Australia, America was founded by sending what the British considered their ‘waste people.’ Convicts, indentured servants and vagabonds.
9 thoughts on “White Trash – Book Review

  1. That’s too bad the book was such a snore fest. :/ Did the other girls in book club like it or did they find it boring, too?
    Oddly enough, I’d just learned that recently as well about the convicts/indentured servants and whatnot. I learned it while watching the show American Gods. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. So the other girls agreed that it was incredibly boring until you got to the Elvis chapter and then it picks up. At page 99, I was still reading about Thomas Jefferson and decided that I had no intention of torturing myself for the sake of Elvis and all those after him.

  2. You want to see some interesting shit? There’s this video about the history of whiteness and class floating around the internet. I saw it months ago so who the hell knows where it is right now lol, but it probably summed up what this book was trying to say in 15 minutes or less, and it want back to the 1600’s too o.O

Leave a Reply

