Red Sister – Book Review

3.5 out of 5 stars

I hope he comes back full of devils and they eat his heart.”

Where to begin? I hate trash talking an author I consider an auto buy but this one just didn’t quite do it for me. It was enjoyable but I felt sure that there would be a plot twist to surprise me at any moment, that there were red herrings galore and I would be dumbfounded when the truth was unveiled. These are things that I’ve come to expect from a Lawrence book. Turns out, things were pretty much exactly as they seemed.

I had a hard time believing that the older nuns were very deadly. They pretty easily overlooked an obvious villain in their midst. I had a hard time keeping their double names straight as well. I still don’t entirely understand why it’s necessary for them to have two names to begin with.

Can I complain that is wasn’t dark enough? Because it wasn’t, at least not for me. The ending didn’t quite quench my thirst either.

Okay enough bitching. There ARE reasons to read this. Despite my list of complaints, it’s still better than 90% of the garbage out there about girls in special assassin schools. The characters were great, their relationships interesting. They had good personal growth. I’m definitely interested in learning more about the world building in future books. I’m undecided if this is a distant Earth or another planet altogether. Just what kind of lives will our tiny assassins lead in the future? It was a good first installment but I’m hoping for a more fleshed out and coherent sequel.

All that is given to you is choice: meet it with open eyes and peace in your heart, go gentle to your reward. Or burn bright, take up arms, and fight the bitch.”

7 thoughts on “Red Sister – Book Review

  1. That’s how I felt about Silent Child in terms of the red herrings. Nothing ever came of them. Well, I’ve had that experience, too, where I love one book/series by an author, but could pass on the rest e.g. John Green. Love Fault, but I couldn’t get through another one whose name I forget lol.

      1. That’s the struggle isn’t it? lol. That is probably a problem I have with Margaret Atwood. I didn’t really care one way or the other about The Handmaid’s Tale so I’ve avoided her other books since that is her most popular.

Leave a Reply

