Dirty Thirty

Absence makes the heart grow fonder, no? Between the holiday and putting an offer in on a house, I’ve been severely lacking in the blog and reading departments. Hopefully, that will change soon but this past week has just had too much excitement to sit down on the internet.

I turn 30 today! My husband is already complaining about the smell of moth balls and icy hot and handing me coffee mugs with ‘OLD’ written on them. I expect a full week before the old jokes die down.

My birthday present to myself? Buying a house. We found THE house. The offer has been accepted and now we enter the closing process. It’s a double learning experience because we are buying directly from the seller and have to do all the work ourselves. Thankfully I have an awesome bank (and an aunt who’s a lawyer) to guide us through the process. Once all the major hurdles have been crossed, I’ll post pics of the adorable new dwelling of the infamous Cupcakes and Machetes.

As for the rest of the day…

dirty30

23 thoughts on “Dirty Thirty

  1. Happy Birthdayyyyy!! ❤ So excited for youuuu!! 😀 I think you just hit the top level of "Treat Yo Self!" Before it was usually coffee or books. Now it's an entire HOUSE! lol Best Birthday Self-Present Ever.
    Congrats again, lady!! ❤ ❤ ❤

  2. Hold on…I found the PERFECT birthday meme. I’m going to send it to you through Goodreads. But yasssss, Happy Birthday and contrats on the house find. Is it the kind with the bedroom on the first floor you were looking for for the puppies? Did the one doggy every get over his sorrow that the cat would not let himself be herded? This is important! Anyway, enjoy your day (though I’m like two days late). Like I said on GR, I knew there was a reason I like you. My two IRL BFFs are Aries (I’m a Taurus). The horns don’t clash as much as you’d thing 😀

    1. Can’t wait to see the meme. 😛
      Unfortunately the biggest bedroom is on the top floor and it has a narrow, twisty staircase so we’ve decided, we’ll just have to suck it up and carry his 75 lb butt up them when it bedtime and down in the morning. The bedroom on the main floor is just too small to accommodate a king-sized bed. Samus has doggy ADHD so she did finally forget that the cat wasn’t having it about 5 minutes later lol. Thanks for the birthday wishes! (I’m dying over here thinking of horns clashing lmao.)

      1. I’m trying to figure out how to show it to you. Hell, I might just make a post lol. Goodread’s messenger doesn’t have that option, and I can’t remember if you’re on the Twit.

        Rock, Paper, Scissors for that shit haha. Will he not climb stairs at all or is it because the stairs are twisty? I think dogs get over things much more quickly than we do. Lucky bastards.

      2. A lot of the time it depends on the stairs. But we were coming in from outside one day when we lived in our last apartment and a neighbor kid below us got locked out of his apartment. So instead of knocking, he started kicking the door and it sounded like gun shots in the stairwell. From that day forward he will not go down any stairs. Sometimes he’ll go up, but never down. Plus, his arthritis makes many stairs painful now.
        I can show you how to do memes in GR if you want.

      3. Oh that poor thing. He was completely traumatized D: This is why I want to smack people who say animals don’t have emotions/can’t experience PTSD. Did you adopt him when he was older? If so I wonder if he had experience with actual gun shots 😦

        I think I know how to do memes in reviews and whatnot, but not in a message. Teach me oh wise one!

      4. We’ve had him since he was 10 weeks old but before that he was on the mean streets of Flint, Michigan. So I think he might have been used to shots off in the distance before, but up close and personal was too much. I think it’s the same in messages on GR but now that I think of it, I don’t think I’ve tried to send one in a message! lmao.

Leave a Reply

