Finding Me – Book Review

Finding Me: A decade of darkness, a life reclaimed – A memoir of the Cleveland kidnappings.

4 out of 5 stars

The struggle to rate this is real. How do you rate someone’s torture? How do you rate their suffering? How do you rate a monstrous human experience? This is every person’s worst nightmare. Held captive and used as a sex object. Beaten and starved. Not for days, not for weeks, not for months but for eleven goddamn years.

I will settle with four stars for this reasoning: I reserve five stars for my favorite books. At no point ever will this be a favorite book, because I cannot favor these disgusting acts even in the face of this woman’s incredible strength and courage. She deserves all the stars for surviving, enduring what she did and holding her head up high and refusing to let it define her.

I think most people heard about this story when it broke, but here you hear the worst of the worst of the details. It’s dark, it’s horrifying, it legitimately gave me nightmares. Yet it is awe inspiring what this woman endured, survived and is now conquering. I consider myself a strong person but I don’t know that I could have made it through 11 years of that hell, and if I did, I don’t know that I would have had the positive outlook on life that she does.

From victim to warrior for the forgotten and abandoned, the abused and broken, Michelle Knight is one hell of a fighter and for that alone, you should read this book.

 

9 thoughts on “Finding Me – Book Review

  1. That sounds like a harrowing read – well, let’s face it, you’re not going through what the victim did so perhaps to call it a harrowing read comes across as a bit over the top – but even so! I don’t know if I could read this – I will add it to my wishlist though and who knows.
    Lynn 😀

  2. The truth is always more horrifying than anything fiction can offer. I always think of that whenever I’m writing anything harrowing in fiction or fantasy. There is nothing in any made up story that will ever be worse than what humans can do to each other.

    I think I’d be as torn on rating as you. You want to give it a high one because holy hell just having the courage to write about what you lived through deserves a high rating, but yeah…that whole idea of highly rating human suffering is the kicker.

    1. It was rough! Then I was reading other people’s reviews on GR and if it was a low rating or negative comments, I wanted to yell at the person who rated/wrote it. Like, what the hell is a matter with you?! Sure the writing isn’t magical, this isn’t a magical fucking tale asshole! Vice versa, some people refused to rate it all based on the same things I struggled with, and that I totally respect.

      1. I get so pissed off at comments like that. I remember reading ones on Dave Pelzer’s A Child Called It, and people had the fucking audacity to doubt/deny that he lived through that horrific experience. That’s the very reason people don’t come forward about their abuse. Michelle Knight is not a writer and she spent 11 years in literal, fucking hell. I wouldn’t expect her to write at the level of King or Tolkien or Martin because that’s not her profession. It’s a memoir of absolute horror. Gah, what the hell is wrong with people.

        I’d probably rate it a five just for respect at having the strength to talk about it, not that I blame anyone for NOT being able to talk about something so horrible. The fact that she was willing to share it with the world, like holy shit, I couldn’t even.

Leave a Reply

