Hitchhiker’s Guide – Book Review

2 out of 5 stars

Um…..what?

People have been recommending this book to me since I was a teenager, so I finally listened, read it with an open mind and ultimately, I just don’t get it.
Sure there were clever observations about humanity; “If human beings don’t keep exercising their lips, he thought, their mouths probably seize up.”
However, I never once laughed out loud. Maybe it all just went right over my head but I just don’t understand the cult following. (To be perfectly fair, I pretty much always have problems with classics and cult classics.)

Two stars is perfectly respectable rating, it was indeed, okay. (Sorry to my friend’s who I am probably highly disappointing right now.)

does-not-get-it

6 thoughts on “Hitchhiker’s Guide – Book Review

  1. Aw, that’s too bad. To each their own, I suppose! 🙂
    Zaphod Beeblebrox made me think of a parody on Trump even though this was written well before the White House turned orange. 😛

  2. I love the Hitchhikers books but there is something of seventies Britain pervading them (even though they’re set in space). I don’t think you have to have experienced living in the UK of that era but it probably helps…

  3. Noooooooooo! That’s okay; I still love you 🙂 There’s always that chance that something doesn’t live up to the hype, and you’ve been hearing how you should read this for YEARS. It’s happened to me before. There was one year where I hated every popular movie that was out, and I couldn’t for the life of me understand why people were so into them.

    Hitchhikers has very British humor, which can be super dry. Hell, I’ll admit something that could get me ostracized. I’m not that fond of Monty Python. It doesn’t do anything for me (or didn’t last time I watched it). Maybe I’d be okay with it now, but I just tend to keep quiet when people talk about how much they love it. It’s just not my thing.

    1. I do have a problem understanding British humor, so that could very well be why it went over my head. What is funny though is that I do like Monty Python and the Holy Grail. (I don’t think I’ve watched any other Monty Python.) However, I don’t go around talking about how awesome it is. Although it did give me good phrase to throw around randomly for quite sometime whenever someone said that someone was going to be mad at me, “What’s he goin’ to do? Nibble my bum?” In fact, I might bring that back now lol.

Leave a Reply

