Nevernight – Book Review

5 out of 5 stars

sexandviolence

If this novel could have an anthem, it would unquestionably be The Exploited’s “Sex and Violence.” If you’re not familiar with the song, YouTube it and get it stuck in your head immediately, much like this book.

Now there isn’t much I can tell you that the synopsis for the book doesn’t cover, while not giving away all the juicy tidbits. So instead, I’ll just tell you about my one major beef and one joyous squeal, that happened out loud and startled my husband.

The worst thing about this entire novel is the constant asterisks and cliff notes. Holy-ever-living-fuck, Batman, were there a metric fuckton of them. So by page 55, I decided to skip every single one. Best decision. If I hadn’t, I don’t know how much longer I would have trudged on. It was that bad. An asterisk infestation. The constant pausing to check the notes really pulled away from the experience of the tale attempting to be told. Since I’ve finished the book, I can solidly tell you that I don’t feel like I missed anything by skipping out on them. I would really love to knock it down a full star for this alone. Alas, gentlefriend, I cannot.

Now that I’ve convinced you to skip the cliff notes, you should definitely give this a whirl, you won’t be disappointed. There’s sex and violence. The writing is good, the characters solid, the world-building awesome. At first the protagonist, Mia, seems a little too “badass heroine that never gets scared or fucks anything up,” but a few chapters in, this is explained and plays beautifully into the rest of the book.

Squeal moment: Book worms are real guys. Not only are they real, they’re monstrous and they eat people who fuck with books. FUCK. YES.

1,2, Mia’s coming for you
3,4, better lock the door
5,6, no lock she can’t pick
7,8, gonna stay up late
9,10, never breath again

7 thoughts on “Nevernight – Book Review

  1. lol Thanks for planting that song back in my head. 😛
    I love that there are literal book worm monsters. What a cool idea.
    Nice review! Sounds like a great read. 😀

  2. Assassins are pretty much my favorite type of protagonist. People who can just drop a fucker like that it’s like 100% sexiness to the extreme.

    Goddamn it…that’s ANOTHER book. You’re my book pusher, and I have a game pusher. I’m screwed!

Leave a Reply

