Queen of the Darkness – Book Review

5 out of 5 stars

I’m not ready to let go. Do not make me do it. I will slap the shit out of you.

I am pretty excited to read the other Black Jewel novels but holy ever living shit do I not want to let go of these characters. I’m honestly a little bit nauseous thinking about it.
I’ve been through thick and thin with these characters. We’ve seen some fucking dark times and had some great laughs and lived in an indescribable (at least on my part) world full of magic, beauty, death, destruction, torture, kindness and love. We’ve gone to battle more times than can be counted and grieved for our losses while nursing our wounded. We gained unlikely and unusual friends and dealt with horrific betrayals.

Yes, I said we. I was so immersed in this world that I forgot about the realm in which I actually exist.

My review of the first book: Daughter of the Blood – Book Review
My review of the second book: I didn’t do one. I couldn’t bring it to words.

As usual, I feel the need to warn with this series, that it is dark. Perhaps the darkest shit I’ve read to date. Personally, I think that makes it feel all the more real. But that also means that this series is definitely not for everyone.

*cries* Please don’t leave me my Khaleer friends!

broken_heart

11 thoughts on “Queen of the Darkness – Book Review

  1. Awww! That image you added at the bottom, omg! lol
    Well, ya did it. You made me add yet another book to my TBR list, you monster, you! 😛
    I just went ahead and added the first book of this trilogy to the pile. How could I resist after reading this??

    1. Lucky for you I own the whole trilogy! 😀 You will not regret reading it. Like holy fuck, you have to read it so I finally have someone I can talk to about it that knows what I’m talking about lol.

  2. I love Anne Bishop! Have you read her other series yet? Her first one is excellent. The magic and feminism is perfect. Her most recent series is The Others. It’s less dark, more urban pop sort of fantasy. However, I have still fallen in love with the characters. It’s so hard to walk away from her characters!

    1. I’ve had Written in Red on my shelf for about a year now but I really wanted to finish up the original Black Jewels trilogy. Now that I have, I’ve been eyeing it again. 🙂
      She really is fantastic at writing great characters and I love that she doesn’t shy away from doing horrible things. I think it makes the story that much more real.

Leave a Reply

