We Are All Completely Fine – Book Review

3.5 stars

I first discovered Daryl Gregory when I read Raising Stony Mayhall and thoroughly enjoyed the take on sentient zombies. He clearly had a unique voice when it came to writing.

We Are All Completely Fine is another fine example. While I didn’t enjoy it quite as much as Stony, it was still something that I had not read before.

A special therapy group formed for survivors of severe trauma leads to something supernatural. Each character experienced something profoundly (and horribly) different from the others but those nightmares bring them together. The goal of therapy is to eventually recover enough to live a normal life. The goal of this therapy group is to weather the shit storm together and hopefully come out of the other end alive.

It’s short and fun and different and a little bit demented, making it a great quick read.

6 thoughts on “We Are All Completely Fine – Book Review

  1. I KNEW his name sounded familiar. I read and reviewed a book of his years ago called The Devil’s Alphabet. It had an interesting premise and set up something that could’ve been great, but ultimately fell flat in the end. That sentient zombie story sounds interesting though. I may have to check that out.

      1. I’m really curious what you’ll think of Devil’s. It has such a fascinating concept, but I just think he drops the ball with what he could’ve done with it. I’m debating whether to add the Stony Mayhall story. I like when they do a twist on the zombie trope (even though I didn’t finish the last book that did that The Girl With All the Gifts).

      2. If this helps, here’s what I remember of Stony. There is a secret society of sentient zombies who are mostly good people doing good things but being hunted down by the FBI because they don’t want people to know about their little mistake.
        I’m not in a hurry to get to Devil but I will definitely let you know what I think when I finally do.

Leave a Reply

