The Hero of Ages – Book Review

5 out of 5 stars

when-he-shaves-unnecessarily

SPOILERS AHEAD MATEY!

I think I was punched in the face with awesome. It has taken about a week of recovery and I still don’t know what exactly I want to say about this series. How does one adequately review a story of this volume in approximately one page?

I don’t know that I could even try to touch the story line. This is the last book in the trilogy and the twists and turns and revelations are thick throughout the story. So many times I felt like I was bitched slapped with answers that were right in front of my face but I didn’t pick up on. It’s probably a little masochistic to say that I quite enjoyed the bitch slaps. Like, hit me baby one more time with that sexy plot twist.

One complaint that I see often is that many people don’t like Vin. I do understand it. But I do think that we expect too much from a character that started life as an orphan, street urchin who’s been beaten frequently and has spent a good portion of their life trying to hide to avoid said abuse, rape and death. Her character growth spans all three novels. From child (killed the Lord Ruler), to teen (accidentally releases Ruin) to young adult (attempting to stop the world from ending with her husband). At no point is she ever one of my favorite characters (that honor goes to Elend, Sazed and TenSoon), but she experiences the most growth out of anyone in the series. In the end, you develop a mad amount of respect for Vin but you have to give her a chance first. To err is human and all that.

I’m about to yell the ending because I still feel the need to yell about it. Not out of anger but out of excitement. So if you don’t want to know how it all ends, stop now.

SAZED IS THE HERO OF AGES AND VIN AND ELEND FUCKING DIE!

Well played Mr. Sanderson, well played.

7 thoughts on “The Hero of Ages – Book Review

  1. Damn! I know Mr. Sanderson is already a renowned writer and all, but I would imagine any author would be like “Fuck yeah” reading a review like that about their own book. 🙂
    Glad to hear you liked it so much!

Leave a Reply

