The Girl With All the Gifts – Book Review

I’ve read a lot of zombie apocalypse novels. A lot. There have been so many variations and so many different origin stories. Some good, some horribly, horribly bad. Then there are the ones that don’t really offer anything new, and poor characterization. These are the most disappointing of the bunch. There are so many things you can do with a zombie apocalypse that it blows my mind when an author manages to make you sleepy at the end of the world.

This novel has a small, boring bump around the 100 page mark but other than that, it was an original zombie apocalypse tale. Persevere, it’s worth it.

f_5cdf515b92

That’s me at the very end of the novel.

There’s a strange little girl, a creepy military dude, an angst ridden teacher and a doctor that is dying to slice open the little girl’s brain. What more of a description do you really need from me?

I swear that I’m not being lazy by not giving you any hints of the plot line. Some things are just better savored for oneself.

Now that being said, I wasn’t blown away in awe like a lot of other people either. I didn’t cry at any part, as much as some people swear that it’s so human it will make you cry.
Maybe my heart is just dead, but I still love puppies so I doubt it.

8 thoughts on “The Girl With All the Gifts – Book Review

  1. Planning on finishing this one some time this week. I can’t wait to get to read the ending and find out what you were talking about. πŸ˜€
    I agree though, it is one that reviewers should be a little vague about since it reads really well when you go into it knowing almost nothing about it. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

