Vengeance Road – Book Review

tumblr_mjcgzqsdha1r8gesao1_500

4.5 stars

When your husband bets you that you can’t finish a book in one sitting, you show the bastard what for! (Also, you take said bet and bet something sweet. Unlike this girl, who laughed about it and didn’t take it as a serious bet.)

“I push the shot glass at him, and he don’t seem too pleased ’bout that. But I got some coin and a vengeance strong enough to cut any throat that tries to cross me right now.”

Meet Kate. She’s eighteen and some bandits murdered her father recently. This is the Wild West and it’s unlikely that the culprits will be brought to justice by the law. She has no other family and the bandits burned down her house to boot. The only road left to her is Vengeance Road. (Ha, see what I did there?)

“I can fire a rifle as good as any man. ‘Parently I can kill another just as dead too. I don’t see why I should act like I can’t just ‘cus it ruffles everyone else’s feathers.”

A girl after my own heart.

Why did I like it so much? I love westerns. It was a western with a kick ass heroine and a team of likable allies along the way. There was action, adventure, death and redemption. It was even written in a western drawl, which at first was weird but once I was adjusted to it, it made it all more authentic. My love of historical fiction helped too.

The one complaint I had was this; lack of horse description. The color of the horses is just as important as the landscape in a western. At least it is in my opinion. I could just be weird.

5 thoughts on “Vengeance Road – Book Review

  1. I’m not a HUGE fan of Westerns, although I do want to see The Magnificent Seven remake—as I recently watched the original and thought it was quite good—but I’ve never come across a novel of that genre. This one seems worth a shot!

Leave a Reply

