Comic Book Rising

Well now that I am properly stuffed with homemade blueberry pancakes, I can think again. I become a monster when not fed. For years my best friend has compared me to the Hulk when I’m hungry. Which leads me to the point of this post.

Comic books.

I always get into them in phases, meaning I go an undetermined amount of time obsessed with them and then they drop off my radar again. Because I am currently reading Fight Club 2 and a Goodreads friend invited me to their comic group, I feel the dark abyss rising up to greet me once again.

fightclub2

(I really think this was the only acceptable way to do a Fight Club continuation.)

Thing is, I always get into really random comics. Not that that is a bad thing, but it does mean that I’ve missed out on a lot of the classics. For example, I have not read a single Marvel or DC comic. Not. A. Single. One. (That I recall.)

As a teenager, I was heavily into dark gothic comics such as; Johnny the Homicidal Maniac, SQUEE!, Gloomcookie and Lenore. I regret nothing and still adore these precious gems.

As of the last 8 years, these have been more my jam:

comiccollage

So now, good fellows, I think the time is nigh. It is time to embark on new comic adventures. I’m not sure which direction I will go once I’m finished with FC2 but the world is vast and I am an adventurous lass.

2 thoughts on “Comic Book Rising

  1. Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat?! I never realized you hadn’t read any Marvel or DC before. Indie comics are great too (if it has a great story and good art I honestly don’t care WHO puts it out), but I was just surprised to read that. I think when we go to the movies like we were talking about we should make it a full girls’ day out and also hit up the comic book shop. It could be amazinggg! 😀 Also, coffee because coffee.

Leave a Reply

