Midnight Riot – Book Review

3 out of 5 stars

Peter Grant is pretty damn chill for someone who just had their first conversation with a ghost and found out that there is a whole paranormal division of the police department. Is it an Englishmen thing? That seems to be the implication but I don’t know any Englishmen to ask.

It took me 14 days to finish this book. For a period of time, I kept telling myself that it was me, not the book. Life has been distracting and other things have been more important that sitting down and finishing a book. As much as it hurts me to say that, it’s true. However, eventually, I had to admit that it was partially the book’s fault as well. It feels much like a set-up to future installments. There isn’t anything necessarily wrong with it, it just failed to pull me back in for more. It was missing that riveting factor. At no point did I need to sit down and find out how the story was progressing.

A new cop, learning magic, while being thrown directly into the paranormal action obviously peaks ones interest and I’m sure I will continue with the series in the future. As of right now, I sit firmly on the β€œmeh” fence. Many a great urban fantasy series begin with mediocre books so the potential is definitely there for something epic.

3 thoughts on “Midnight Riot – Book Review

Leave a comment